Peanut Butter Marshmallow Brownies (12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies)

Welcome to week 3 of the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies! These brownies would make a great contribution to a cookie swap or a dessert spread. These keep well for a few days, and would be really easy to ship if you needed to send them to someone across the country.

These are also known as fluffernutter brownies. Can I be honest here for a minute? Something about the word fluffernutter really bothers me. I’m not sure why. Maybe is sounds dirty? Does anyone else have an issue with that word? I don’t think I had ever even heard of it until I started seeing it on food blogs. Is it regional? Generational? Anyway, it bothers me, so I will just call them peanut butter and marshmallow.

These brownies are really good. The brownie itself is not as fudgy as some, which is just fine with me. The marshmallow doesn’t add much flavor; rather it gives the peanut butter a chewy texture when baked. These were a big hit at work when I brought in the leftovers. I didn’t make any changes from the recipe I found, other than to double it. These doubled well.

I also want to say a quick thank you to Clean Eating Chelsey for picking me as a winner of a recent giveaway!

Fluffernutter Brownies

 Lauren’s Latest 

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons butter, divided
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup peanut butter
10 large marshmallows

 
In a large glass bowl, melt 1/2 cup butter in microwave. Stir in sugar and brown sugar. Add eggs and vanilla, stirring to combine.
In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa,baking powder, and salt. Stir into butter mixture until completely incorporated. Pour into a greased 8 x 8 inch baking pan. Set aside.
In a small sauce pan, add 2 tablespoons butter, peanut butter, and marshmallows. Cook over medium heat stirring constantly until the marshmallows are melted and smooth. Drizzle over brownie batter in vertical lines. Use a knife to swirl peanut butter mixture into brownie batter.
Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until brownies start to pull away from sides of pan.

Leave a Reply

