Tea Brined Chicken in Coconut Sauce

Sarah from Simply Cooked was our November Daring Cooks’ hostess and she challenged us to create something truly unique in both taste and technique! We learned how to cook using tea with recipes from Tea Cookbook by Tonia George and The New Tea Book by Sara Perry.

This was my first month participating in the Daring Cooks challenge. I cook a lot, but I never really take a lot of time to get creative with my ingredients. This was a really interesting challenge for me. I have never cooked, or baked, or really done anything with tea other than just drink it. I had a hard time finding a dish to make, so I ended up think this up on my own. It tastes a little like a curry, and makes a great meal paired with some brown rice and green beans in garlic sauce.

This dish does not have much tea flavor, but the tea brine added a tone of moisture, and really helped to tenderize the meat. I brined the chicken for about 8 hours, but this would work well over night. I used chicken tenders, which is what I had on hand, but I think this would be great with legs or thighs.

 

 Tea brined chicken in coconut sauce

12 chicken tenders

2 bags English breakfast tea

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon salt

½ can coconut milk

Juice of ½ a lime

1tsp chili powder

2 cloves garlic, minced

Salt and pepper to taste

For the brine:

Brew a cup of tea using both tea bags to get a stronger flavor. Dissolve brown sugar and salt in the hot tea. Add in a cup of cold water to cool down. Cover chicken with the brine, let sit for at least 6-8 hours.

For the chicken:

To cook chicken, heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Remove chicken from brine, pat dry.  Brown chicken on both sides, cooking in batches is the pan is too crowded. After the chicken is browned, place all the chicken back into the skillet; add in half a can of coconut milk. Add in the lime juice, chili powder, and garlic. Let simmer for 20 minutes.

Serve over rice, squeeze the other half of the lime over the chicken as needed.

One thought on “Tea Brined Chicken in Coconut Sauce

  1. sue says:

    Now that sounds interesting, I think this sounds really good!

Leave a Reply

