Banana and Salted Caramel Whoopie Pies

Its week 8 of the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies, I Know I say this every week, but I am amazed that the holidays are so close! I guess its just a sign that I am getting older.

While bananas are probably not the first flavor you think of for cookies when Christmas comes around, I think it is perfectly fitting! Banana bread is one of my go to host/hostess gifts, and its great to have on hand for surprise visits, or that awkward situation where someone gives you a gift that you weren’t expecting. These cookies have that warm, comforting feeling of banana bread, but with the added goodness of salted caramel. And really, how could you argue with caramel?

The speed at which baked goodies disappear from my desk is usually a good indicator of the overall success of the recipe. I put out a plate of these cookies, left my desk for about 20 minutes, and came back to an empty plate. Considering that most things I bring in take a few hours to get eaten, I’d say they went over well!

For this recipe I had to use components from two different recipes to get what I wanted.

Banana Cookies
Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup mashed banana (about 2 medium bananas)
1/2 cup sour cream, at room temperature
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl. Combine the banana and sour cream in a measuring cup and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and both sugars on medium speed until pale in color and fluffy, about 3-4 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, then add the egg and vanilla extract, beating until incorporated. Alternately add the flour mixture (in 3 additions) and banana mixture (in 2 additions), starting and ending with the flour mixture. Beat only until ingredients are just combined.

Transfer the batter to a pastry bag fitted with a plain tip. Pipe the batter into 1 1/4-inch rounds on baking sheets (just approximate, I didn’t measure each one), spacing them an inch or two apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes (I baked one sheet at a time), until the edges are golden and the cookies spring back when gently pressed. Transfer baking sheet to wire rack and let cookies cool for 5 minutes, then transfer them to wire rack to cool completely.

Frosting:
Erin’s Food Files

1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp water
1 tbsp corn syrup
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 tsp fleur de sel
1/4 cup sour cream
6 tbsp softened butter
3 cups powdered sugar

For frosting:
Put the granulated sugar, water and corn syrup into a heavy saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir to combine, then cook until the mixture is a nice, deep golden brown.

While the sugar is cooking, bring the salt and cream to a simmer in another saucepan.

Once the caramel is the right color, remove the pan from heat. Wait one minute, then stir in the heavy cream. Let cool for a few minutes, then whisk in the sour cream. Set aside to cool.

Once the caramel is cool, beat the butter in the bowl of a stand mixer until smooth. Add the caramel and powdered sugar, and beat until it has a spreadable consistency.

Spread a thick layer of frosting on the flat side of one cookie, then top with another.

Make sure to visit the other blogs in this blog hop to see what they created!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

12 thoughts on “Banana and Salted Caramel Whoopie Pies

  1. These look very interesting! I’ve never actually thought of banana cookies but I love all other kinds of banana treats so may have to give these a try!

  2. sue says:

    HMMM my hubby loves banana stuff, so this would be a hit!

  3. I love banana bread! These cookies are sure to be a hit! I love having different flavors around the holidays. I think these would go great on a holiday tray!!

  4. What a great idea! The flavor combo sounds really intriguing. I have actually never made whoopie pies but they’re definitely on my to-bake list 🙂

  5. Trisha says:

    Christmassy or not, these look and sound delicious.

  6. Banoffee pie (bananas and toffee/caramel on a biscuity base) is one of my favourite ever puddings so these sound amazing!

  7. Oh my, what a flavor combo! I’d love these for sure.

  8. LeAnn says:

    I actually am thankful for a banana recipe because I like new things to make with my old bananas. Think I will have to give it a try!

  9. Helen says:

    sounds like they may taste like a banan cream pie, sounds worth trying!

  10. These sound SO good. Caramel and Banana together? That’s a winner. If there were peanut butter in there too I’d be in heaven

Leave a Reply

