Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Last week was absolutely crazy. I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving, I certainly did. As I said though, it was crazy. After fighting me for the rights to thanksgiving dessert, my sister got sick and I got a last minute phone call telling me I had to take care of them. I ended up cooking everything but the stuffing! It all turned out well, and I had a lot of fun doing it. I will post some recipes from Thanksgiving over the next few weeks, but there won’t be any pictures. I just couldn’t ask people to hold off eating!

I have to admit that even though Thanksgiving is barley over, I have been in Christmas mode for a few weeks now. I’ve finished my shopping, wrapped the presents, and been listening to Christmas music. And I love holiday flavors far more than fall. I’m not really on board with pumpkin, but I love mint and chocolate, which always screams Christmas to me. That is where these cookies come in. Last week when I was looking through the Target Christmas area, I came across a great deal on Andes mints, I knew I would have to use them in something.

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies
2 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup chopped Andes Mints

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl stir together flour, salt, and baking soda. In the bowl of a mixer, cream together butter and both sugars. Add eggs, vanilla and cocoa. Gradually stir flour mixture into butter mixture and mix until combined. Stir chocolate chips and mints, and stir to distribute evenly.
Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto greased baking sheets and bake about 10 minutes. Cool on a baking rack.

Leave a Reply

