Hot Chocolate Cookies

Before I share my recipe today, I need to take a moment to vent. First, on Sunday, I had a fantastic dinner planned. I had spent the afternoon preparing, and one of the things I was making was a fantastic roast beef. Well it was almost ready to eat when the Pyrex dish just shattered in the oven! Glass was everywhere, all over the oven, kitchen, and of course, my roast. Instead of my roast beef, we had a precooked, store bought chicken.

To make matters worse, I went out to my car yesterday to go to work, and someone had hit it, and didn’t bother to leave a note. People have it out for my car around the holidays. Last year someone broke in my window right before Christmas, this year, a hit and run. It doesn’t do much for the holiday spirit!

But enough complaining, now on to some cookies!

These cookies would be great to put out on a plate for Santa on Christmas Eve. These cookies are fantastic warm from the oven, but once they are cool, they really do taste like hot chocolate! The original recipe called for hot chocolate mix, but I usually don’t use a mix to make hot chocolate, so I didn’t have any one hand, and used cocoa powder instead.

 

Hot Chocolate Cookies

Adapted from Baking Serendipity

2 sticks salted butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
3 1/4 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp salt
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups mini marshmallows, toasted

Cream butter and sugars until smooth. Add eggs, one at a time and vanilla and beat until combined. In a separate bowl, combine flour cocoa powder, salt and baking soda. Add to wet ingredients in 3-4 parts, stirring well to make sure it is incorporated.

Toast mini marshmallows under the broiler on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil (for easy clean-up). Fold toasted marshmallows and chocolate chips into dough.

Drop cookie dough by the tablespoon onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 9-11 minutes. Let cool slightly before transferring to a wire rack.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

